Organisation of American States


The Organization of American States (OAS) was founded in 1948 to promote regional solidarity, economic, military, and cultural cooperation among its member states. Its membership includes all 35 States of the Americas, with permanent observer status granted to 69 states, as well as to the European Union. The OAS’s main goals are to prevent any outside state’s intervention in the Western Hemisphere and to maintain peace between the various states within the hemisphere.

The OAS was founded based on the principles of the U.S. Monroe Doctrine, with an attempt to “continentalize” the Americas; an attack upon one American state would be considered as an attack upon all states. The OAS grew out of the Pan-American Union, aimed to reach agreement on various commercial and juridical problems common to the U.S. and Latin America. With the start of the Cold War in 1948, it had become apparent that a stronger security system was needed in the Western Hemisphere to meet the perceived threat of international communism. At the urging of the United States, the OAS Charter was signed on April 30, 1948.

This committee will give delegates a chance to envision themselves as members of the OAS, and discuss three debate topics that involve various social, political, and environmental issues experienced within member states.



Your Dais:


Leanne Young - Chair

Conrad-7 copy.jpg

Conrad Mahony - Vice-Chair

Tina Mukherjee.JPG

Tina Mukherjee - Vice-Chair